Card fees · Australia
Square fees in Australia
Square is the only provider on this site that publishes two different in-person rates and sorts you into one of them by the date you opened your account. It is also the only one whose schedule never says whether the headline rate includes GST. Both facts change what Square actually costs you, and neither is visible in a rate comparison. Square's own schedule is below, observed 4 October 2026.
Square's published Australian rates
GST treatment not stated
| Payment type | Published rate | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| In person (card present) | 1.6% | Contactless, chip and PIN or swiped on Square Terminal or Square Register. Also 1.6% on Square Reader, Square Stand, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Tap to Pay on Android for sellers who signed up on or after 30 May 2024. |
| Online | 2.2% | Square Online, Square eCommerce API, Square Payment Links, Subscription Payments and Square Gift Card purchases. |
| Manually keyed / card on file | 2.2% | Manually entered payments, and Card on File recurring payments via Square Invoices and Virtual Terminal. |
| International cards | +1.5% on top of the base rate | Square's AU fee schedule states a 1.5% international transaction fee on cards issued outside Australia, charged in addition to the base processing rate: 3.1% in person and 3.7% online on the standard rates. GST basis not stated. |
Square's published AU fee schedule does not state whether its core processing rates include GST. It states GST treatment only for Afterpay (6% + 30c, excluding GST). Zeller and Stripe explicitly state their headline rates include GST, and Tyro states it for Payment Links. We show Square's rates exactly as published and do not gross them up, because inventing a GST-inclusive figure would misstate a competitor's price.
Monthly and fixed costs
Square's free plan carries no monthly software fee; paid plans and add-ons are extra and are not modelled here.
Other published charges
| Charge | Published amount |
|---|---|
| Afterpay | 6% + 30c per transaction (excluding GST) |
| Square Gift Cards | 2.5% load fee plus standard processing fees |
| International cards | 1.5% international transaction fee in addition to the base processing rate |
Negotiating. Square states its sales team can arrange custom transaction rates for larger sellers.
Check which rate you are actually on
Sellers who signed up before 30 May 2024. Square Reader, Square Stand, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Tap to Pay on Android are 1.9% for sellers who signed up prior to 30 May 2024, versus 1.6% for those who signed up on or after that date. Square Terminal and Square Register are 1.6% for both groups.
Where these numbers come from
Square Support Centre (AU): Learn about Square fees (observed 2026-10-04) · Square AU pricing (observed 2026-10-04)
The GST basis Square never states
Square's published AU fee schedule does not state whether its core processing rates include GST. It states GST treatment only for Afterpay (6% + 30c, excluding GST). Zeller and Stripe explicitly state their headline rates include GST, and Tyro states it for Payment Links. We show Square's rates exactly as published and do not gross them up, because inventing a GST-inclusive figure would misstate a competitor's price.
This matters more than it sounds. A rate quoted excluding GST and a rate quoted including GST are about ten percent apart on the same money, so putting Square's 1.6% beside a rate the other three state as GST-inclusive is not a like-for-like reading. We show Square's figure exactly as Square publishes it and label the basis as not stated, rather than grossing it up and misquoting a competitor's price. If the difference is material to your decision, the number to get in writing from Square is whether the processing rate on your account is inclusive or exclusive of GST.
The one place Square does commit to a basis is Afterpay, which its schedule states excluding GST. That is in the other-charges table above.
Your hardware decides whether the older rate reaches you
The signup-date split above is not applied evenly across Square's range. By Square's own description, Square Terminal and Square Register sit at 1.6% for every seller regardless of when they joined. The date only decides the rate on Square Reader, Square Stand, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Tap to Pay on Android. So a long-standing Square seller taking payments on a countertop Terminal is on the current rate already, while the same seller tapping on a phone may not be.
That makes this a question worth answering before you shop around: the cheapest change available to an older Square account may be which device it takes payments on, not which provider it is with.
Where Square gets expensive, and what it does not publish
- Going online costs you 0.6 points. Square's online rate is 2.2% against 1.6% in person. Deposits, payment links and gift-card purchases all price at the online rate, so a business that shifts takings from the counter to the web moves that volume onto the dearer side of Square's own schedule.
- Card on file prices as online, not in person. Manually entered payments and card-on-file charges through Square Invoices and Virtual Terminal sit at 2.2%. If you keep cards on file for repeat customers, that rate applies to those payments, and the counter rate in the headline does not.
- The negotiating door is open but unmarked. Square states its sales team can arrange custom transaction rates for larger sellers. No turnover threshold is published, which is not the same as there not being one. Tyro publishes a figure; Square does not. Ask anyway.
There is no card surcharging in Australia from 1 October 2026. Whatever a surcharge has been recovering for you has to come from your prices or your margin from that date.
This page is the detail. The comparison lives elsewhere
Everything above is Square on its own terms: what Square publishes, what it charges for, and the conditions attached. That is deliberately a one-provider view. A rate on its own tells you very little. What matters is what it comes to across a year of your turnover, at your average ticket, on your mix of in-person and online. Three other pages do that arithmetic.
- What card fees cost a venue, salon or clinic: the hub, where Square is costed against every other provider over a year, in three trades. Start there if you have not settled on a provider yet.
- Square vs Zeller vs Tyro vs Stripe, head to head: the four published rate cards in one table, then the annual total across six turnover and ticket combinations.
- Run your own numbers: the same engine, on your turnover instead of a worked example.
Once you know the number, the next question is what you do about it
Card fees are one line of the software-and-payments bill. The booking platform is the other, and that's the line we can move: BookMyVenue takes no commission on any booking from any source, charges no per-booking fee, and publishes every price on one page, GST noted. If a platform is clipping your transactions, compare that against a flat bill.
