Skip to content
BookMyVenue

Free tool · Australia

What card fees actually cost you in a year

Type your monthly card turnover, your average sale and how much of it happens online. The calculator returns your year's card cost on the published rates of Square, Zeller, Tyro and Stripe, side by side. It runs in your browser; nothing you type is sent anywhere or stored.

Your numbers

Only the money that arrives by card. Leave out cash and bank transfers.

Turnover divided by number of card sales. This decides how much the fixed cents-per-transaction fees hurt. They punish small tickets hardest.

Optional shortcut. It only sets the sliders below, and you can change anything you like afterwards.

The rest is treated as online or card-not-present, which almost every provider charges more for.

Overseas-issued cards. This is the one part of the mix that genuinely changes the ranking, because Stripe prices international cards very differently to domestic ones.

Debit, credit and Amex split

Straight answer: on the published rates below, your debit/credit/Amex split does not change the total. Square, Zeller and Tyro all publish a single flat rate that applies to card payments generally rather than separate debit, credit and Amex rates, and Stripe prices on domestic versus international rather than on card type. We have left the Amex field here because it is the first thing people reach for, and because it starts to matter in two real cases: if you hold a direct American Express Classic agreement (Tyro publishes a 0.1% switch fee instead of its 1.4% rate in that case, with Amex billing you separately), or if you are on an interchange-plus plan rather than flat-rate pricing. If either applies to you, use the custom rate field.

Take it off your merchant statement. This is the only way to price a provider that does not publish a rate, such as Fresha or any negotiated deal. It gets compared against everyone else.

What it costs you

Cheapest published option, per year

$9,756

with Zeller · about $0.88 per sale

  1. Zeller
    cheapest on your mix
    $9,756
    $813/mo
  2. Tyro
    +$60 a year vs Zeller
    $9,816
    $818/mo
  3. Square
    +$2,952 a year vs Zeller
    $12,708
    $1,059/mo
  4. Stripe
    +$4,230 a year vs Zeller
    $13,986
    $1,166/mo
  5. Fresha
    no Australian rate published, so enter it in the custom field
    Not priced

The spread between the cheapest and dearest option on your numbers is $4,230 a year, or $353 a month, on identical trading. From 1 October 2026 you can no longer pass this to customers as a surcharge, so it comes off your margin. What changes.

Published rates as at 4 October 2026. Based on 923 card sales a month at $65.00 average. Some providers publish no separate international card rate; their domestic rate has been applied to your 5% international volume, so those figures may be understated. Excludes hardware, chargebacks and negotiated pricing. Square does not state GST treatment on its published processing rates; Zeller, Tyro, Stripe state theirs include GST.

Why the annual number is the one that matters

A tenth of a percent reads like nothing. Across a year of turnover it's a real line in your accounts, and you pay it every year. Per-transaction framing keeps fees feeling small. Annual framing is how your accountant sees them, so it's the one this page uses.

The published rates this calculator uses

The same data file as every table on this site: each provider's own schedule, observed 4 October 2026, GST basis labelled per row. When a provider moves a rate, the file changes and the calculator follows. Before any deploy, a parity gate diffs the calculator's maths against the built tables to one cent.

ProviderIn personOnlineMonthlyGST
Square1.6%2.2%$0/moGST treatment not stated
Zeller1.4%1.1%$0/moincl. GST
Tyro1.3%1.4%$29/moincl. GST
Stripe1.65% + A$0.101.65% + A$0.30$0/moincl. GST

Every rate above, and where it comes from

Figures on this page are calculated from these published rates. They are not quotes, and they are not negotiated pricing. Check the source before deciding on one.

How the calculator works out the number

It splits your turnover by your online share, applies each provider's card-present and online rates plus fixed cents per transaction at your average sale, adds monthly plan and terminal fees, and multiplies by twelve. Each provider's line is shown on the GST basis that provider publishes, labelled.

Related pages

Where these rates come from, per provider: Square · Zeller · Tyro · Stripe. Side by side: Compare providers. All guides: Card fees hub.

Questions people actually ask

Once you know the number, the next question is what you do about it

Card fees are one line of the software-and-payments bill. The booking platform is the other, and that's the line we can move: BookMyVenue takes no commission on any booking from any source, charges no per-booking fee, and publishes every price on one page, GST noted. If a platform is clipping your transactions, compare that against a flat bill.